Utah Girls Softball Association



RULE BOOK

2025

MISSION STATEMENT

"We strive to instruct, train, organize, and encourage competitive softball and teach life skills.

We strive to help our youth acquire ideals of good sportsmanship, honesty, loyalty, courage and foster a love for the game of softball."

-- UGSA Board of Directors

Table of Contents

| <u>Page</u> | |
|-------------|---|
| 1 | Table of Contents |
| 2 | U.G.S.A. Board |
| 3 | Administration |
| 4 | Meetings and Important Dates –Team and Player Assignments |
| 5 | Team and Player Assignments continued |
| 6 | Schedules and Games – Game Time Limits – Mercy Rules |
| 7 | Protests and Penalties |
| 8 | Protest and Penalties continued |
| 9 | Managing and Coaching Conferences |
| 10 | Conferences – Leagues |
| 11 | Special Rules |
| 12 | Special Rules continued |
| 13 | Line-Up – Equipment and Playing Field Regulations |
| 14 | Equipment and Playing Field Regulations continued |
| 15 | State Tournament |
| 16 | State Tournament |
| 17 | Pick-Up Player (State Tournament) |
| 18 | Mercy Rule – line-ups (State Tournament) |
| 19 | Bids – Players (State Tournament) |
| 20 | Bids – Players (State Tournament) continued |
| 21 | Protests and Penalties (State Tournament) |
| 22 | Illegal/Illegal Players (State Tournament) |

REVISED FEBRUARY 2025 by the U.G.S.A. Rules Committee

U.G.S.A BOARD

Treasurer/Secretary: Darshell Ariotti

443 South 200 East Springville, UT 84663

Falcon Director: Tracy Wiley

49 South Main Street Spanish Fork, UT 84660

Filly Director: Nancy Reed

443 South 200 East Springville, UT 84663

Fox Director: Jeremy Alvey

1050 South Main Payson, UT 84651

Lehi Area Liaison: Megan Ruppenthal

123 North Center St Lehi, UT 84043

Salem Area Liaison: Shae Smith

60 North 100 East Salem, UT 84653

Saratoga Springs Area

Liaison:

Heston Williams

1307 North Commerce Dr. Saratoga Springs, UT 84045

Sanpete Liaison: Luke Rowley

50 South Main Manti, UT 84642

ADMINISTRATION

 U.G.S.A., a non-profit corporation, was formed to make available for all girls in Utah, a softball program culminating in an annual state tournament and is administered separately for the following grades that they are completing:

| Falcon League | grades 3 & 4 |
|---------------|-----------------|
| Filly League | grades 5 & 6 |
| Fox League | grades 7, 8 & 9 |

Any player who is home schooled will be classified in the grade she would be in if she were in the public school system. Players must play within their league. Any girl playing in any other league will result in a forfeit. The ONLY EXCEPTION to this would be if there is no younger team available, in which case we will allow younger players to play up.

- A. A player may only play in each league 2 years, 3 years in Fox League.
- B. If a player academically advances in school they remain in the league which the started play. League rule eligibility will still be in effect.
- The U.G.S.A. Board of Directors and Area Directors with the U.G.S.A. will administer the functions of U.G.S.A.. State Falcon, Filly and Fox Directors will be an elected position. The State Secretary (non-voting member), Treasurer and Board Member will each be an appointed position.
- 3. Each community will be represented by one Area Director. The Area Director will have voting power at U.G.S.A. general meetings.
- 4. U.G.S.A. Board of Directors must attend at least two U.G.S.A. official meetings per year or send a representative, or they will be deemed inactive and will be replaced. The board member must be notified in advance of their replacement.
- 5. Past presidents may remain on the Board of Directors having voting power.
- 6. U.G.S.A. State Area Directors will help with league organization, rule continuity, and all phases of the state tournament, television and newspaper exposure, award presentation, etc.
- 7. The Utah High School Activities Association official rules will be used in governing the play for all leagues. U.G.S.A. regulations contain those exceptions to the official rules that are necessary in a youth program. Any interpretation to these regulations or official rules must be requested from U.G.S.A. State Directors. State tournaments will be governed by U.G.S.A. rules.

MEETINGS AND IMPORTANT DATES

1. Winter Meeting – Late January/early February

To discuss new rule changes and conduct all unfinished business. To confirm tournament dates and accept bids for tournament hosts for the current year.

2. Important Dates

- Second Friday in May (May 9th) Report number of teams to U.G.S.A secretary.
- B. May 20, 2025 Early payment deadline. All team fees and rosters are due.
- C. May 27, 2025 Drop deadline for team payment and tournament berth.
- D. June 20, 2025 Tournament team names are due to the U.G.S.A secretary.

3. Post-Season Meeting

A post-season meeting will be held in August. Date and time TBA. This meeting will be held at Spanish Fork Recreation Office. Area directors are asked to compile a season and post-season report of rules, tournament issues and needed amendments. These reports will be discussed at the meeting.

TEAM AND PLAYER ASSIGNMENTS

- Organization of teams will be under the direction of each community. The selection and assignments of players will be on a fair and equitable basis. Each city must have their selection method approved by the State Board. Suggested methods to select or assign players are as follows:
 - A. Lottery
 - B. Alternate free selection
 - C. Blind draft selection
- 2. Players who may automatically be placed on a team without going through the normal draft process will be:

- A. The daughter of the head coach. Head coach cannot be a rotated position from year to year for the purpose of gaining players.
- B. The sisters of players who are presently on the team roster.
- C. Leagues desiring to automatically place any other player must receive approval from U.G.S.A. at the February meeting.
- 3. It is suggested that each team have 12/13 players on their rosters. Each team roster must be filled with the grade and uniform number of each person during the past school year. Please mail to the secretary by the June deadline with a registration fee for each team. (Area directors must advise the secretary of any roster changes as they occur.) When a player has been assigned to a team, she must remain on that team as long as she remains in that league. Exceptions to this rule must be approved by the Utah State Board of Directors. This includes organization of new teams. Registration fees for Falcon/Filly teams \$70 & Fox \$80 if paid by May 12th. Payments made May 13th through May 19th \$75 /\$85 per team.
 - A. Cities or leagues may opt to re-draft teams each year. If a city chooses to re-draft, it will be done in all U.G.S.A. associated leagues that are offered by that city. It will be expected that once a city changes it's draft system, it will continue with the new system in future years.
- 4. Flagrant behavior of a player will result in her temporary dismissal from participation in the U.G.S.A. organization. Length of suspension will be determined by the community director.
- 5. All teams must be in matching jerseys. It is suggested that pants or shorts should be the same style and color. Uniform issues **will not** be grounds for protests.
 - A. No denim cut-offs
 - B. No metal spikes
 - C. No jewelry
 - D. No short-shorts allowed
 - E. Pants or shorts must be worn at the waist

SCHEDULES AND GAMES

- All game scheduling and, where necessary, game rescheduling, will be community or area sponsored. To qualify for state tournament, each team must have played at least ten league games.
- 2. When a game is tied at the end of regulation innings or the expiration of the time limit, the game will be decided by an international tie-breaker.
- 3. Regulation game times may be established by each community for league play. Time limits that will be used for U.G.S.A. state tournament will be as follows:

| LEAGUE | TIME LIMIT | INNINGS |
|--------|-------------------|---------|
| Falcon | 1 hour | 6 |
| Filly | 1 hour 15 minutes | 6 |
| Fox | 1 hour 15 minutes | 6 |

- 4. Where there are no lights on the playing field, no new inning will start after sundown. Sundown is defined as the time when the sun goes behind the mountain. Where there are lights on the playing field, no games should start after 9:00 p.m. and no new inning should start after 11:00 p.m.
- 5. In all leagues if a team is leading it's opponent by at least 15 runs after three innings, 12 runs after 4 innings or 8 runs after five innings, the team in the lead will be declared the winner.

| Mercy Rule | Runs | Visiting Team | Home Team |
|--------------|-------|----------------|----------------|
| Innings/Time | Ahead | Innings Played | Innings Played |
| At 3 Innings | 15 | 3 | 2 ½ |
| At 4 innings | 12 | 4 | 3 ½ |
| At 5 Innings | 8 | 5 | 4 ½ |

6. If the game is called for weather reasons, the team ahead is declared the winner <u>if</u> 2 or more equal innings have been completed in the Falcon and 3 or more equal innings have been completed in Filly or Fox leagues. It is suggested that suspended games due to weather, that have not met legal game standards (explained above), will resume at the point where the game was stopped.

- 7. There will be no designated hitter in U.G.S.A.
- 8. Intentional walks are allowed in U.G.S.A.
- In Falcon and Filly leagues, a batter may not advance on a dropped third strike.
- 10. The infield fly rule will **not** apply in Falcon and Filly leagues.
- 11. The catcher must remain silent as soon as the batter steps into the batters box.
- 12. Only positive comments will be allowed from both teams. No negative comments or cheers toward the other team will be tolerated.
- 13. In Falcon league, bunting will **not** be allowed. If a bunt is attempted, play is dead and the pitch will be counted as a strike.

PROTESTS AND PENALTIES

- It is left to the cities discretion to determine how many uniformed players must be fielded before a forfeit is declared for their own league play. It is also left to the individual cities to decide whether automatic outs will be used.
- 2. The playing of illegal players shall result in the forfeiture of games in which players have participated illegally. The game must be protested by the opposing team's coach within 24 hours of the game in question. In tournament play, the game must be protested and taken care of immediately. An illegal player is one who is not legally a member of the team because she does not meet the grade requirement, the proper residence area, or the registration requirements.
- 3. Penalty for the use of an illegal player shall be the removal of the player from the line-up upon appeal by the opposing manager, notification by the official scorer or league official, providing the official scorebook or other league records verify the ineligibility of the player concerned. Such

players may also be declared illegal to play in the team's next game if such a violation is determined deliberate on the part of the player or her manager. An illegal player is one who is legally a member of the league, but who is illegal because of rule violation or has been declared illegal for other just justifiable cause. For the purpose of interpreting this rule, a player shall not be considered in violation of the rules until at least one legal pitch has been thrown after the violation has occurred.

- 4. In the event that a manager of an illegal player refuses to remove the player in question from the line-up when the appeal is made and verified, the game is subject to a forfeit when it is protested properly.
- 5. A protest based on a play that involves umpire's judgement is not permitted.
- 6. In legal play, the objecting manager must notify the umpire, the official scorekeeper, and the opposing manager of a protest of violation or rules at the time of violation. If an immediate decision cannot be reached, the game will continue in protest status and the objecting manager must file in writing with the League President within 24 hours. The following information is necessary:
 - A. What inning it is.
 - B. The score at the time of protest.
 - C. How many outs.
 - D. How many base runners and on what bases.
 - E. The count on the batter.
 - F. Who was pitching.
 - G. What happened and what rule was violated.

If the protest is upheld by the league director, the game in concern shall be played from the point of protest.

7. In U.G.S.A., protests should be discouraged on technicalities and it should be observed that, unless an illegal player is being used or commits some unusual or major violation, a game forfeiture should not be involved.

8. If a manager, coach, or player has been removed from the game and refuses to leave the playing field or ballpark, the game will be deemed a forfeit.

MANAGING AND COACHING

- 1. Two adult coaches may be used on the base line. Only eligible players in uniform may be used as base coaches or coaches if an adult is not used. Players occupying coaches boxes must wear a protective helmet.
- A coach or coaches cannot switch coaching boxes during an inning.
 Players, managers, and coaches must remain in the dugout, on the bench, or in the prescribed coaching box areas throughout the game.
- 3. The use of tobacco, chew, smoking, alcohol or un-prescribed drugs in any form by players, coaches, or adult leaders in the dugout, on the bench, on the playing field, or any time during the game is not permitted and such offenders are illegal for further participation in the U.G.S.A for that year.
- 4. Flagrant behavior of any manager/coach, spectator or player will not be tolerated. If he or she is removed from the game, he or she will leave the ballpark without exception. He or she will also be suspended from the next scheduled game. If the behavior is extremely bad, the person will be asked to meet with his or her own community or area director. Coaches are responsible for their own crowd control during the game.
- 5. It is the responsibility of the umpire to keep the game moving along not allow delay of game tactics.

CONFERENCES

- 1. Offensively, only one time out can be taken in a ½ inning. Coaches must give signs to all batters in a timely manner. Coaching players in between innings does not constitute a time out.
- 2. Defensive Conferences: The defensive team will be allowed a total of three conferences without penalty during a game. After three charged

conferences in a game, or for any charged conference in excess of one in each extra inning, the pitcher shall be removed as pitcher. A conference is not charged when a pitching change is made.

LEAGUES

- 1. Each community will determine the number of leagues in their respective communities and/or area and will also enforce league boundaries
 - A. If there are not organized teams or leagues from a community, that area will be considered as an unincorporated area. Girls from unincorporated areas will be allowed to join the league of a neighboring community. A neighboring community should be close in geographical proximity.
 - B. League boundaries are defined as city boundaries or multiple city boundaries if more than one city in involved in forming a league. Unincorporated areas may not be included as part of league boundaries, but players from these areas may join leagues close in geographical proximity.
 - C. Players should play within their boundaries. If, for any reason, a player wishes to play in another league outside of their boundary, they must:
 - 1. Obtain an application from current recreation department.
 - 2. Explain why and get the current league director's signature.
 - 3. Explain why and get the transfer director's signature.
 - 4. Present application with both signatures to U.G.S.A Board for approval. *This must be done before player may register outside their league boundary.
- It is suggested that each league be composed of at least 4 teams. It is recommended that all leagues carry insurance for the personnel in their league.
- 3. Players must reside within league boundaries as of July 1st in order to be eligible to play. For late changes, the State Director must approve.

4. Players that are living in the boarders of a geographical city but feed to a neighboring High School will have the option to play in either cities recreation league. (High School boundaries, not Junior High, Middle or Elementary School boundaries).

SPECIAL RULES

PITCHING

- The pitcher must start with the pivot food in contact with the plate.
 U.G.S.A. will allow a pitcher to step backward from the pitching plate with the non-pivot foot while delivering the ball. Falcon/Filly no such thing as a crow hop, Fox will be called as per High School rules.
- 2. The pitcher must start pitching from inside the width of the pitching rubber. A staggering starting stance is allowed when starting to pitch.

BASE RUNNING

- Filly/Fox only When a pitcher is within the 8-foot radius or on the
 pitcher's plate with the ball in her possession (and not making a play on a
 runner), the base runner must immediately attempt to advance to the
 next base or return to the previous base.
- 2. Falcon only All play must stop (Dead Ball) when the pitcher is standing within the pitching 8-foot radius circle and the ball enters or passes through the circle-regardless of whether the pitcher catches it or not, or the pitcher carries the ball in the circle. Base runners must go the nearest base. No Delay Stealing. Clarification-only applies to ball being thrown to the pitcher, not if thrown ball passes through the circle when trying to make a play on a base runner.
 - A. Any Filly or Fox player, who receives a base on balls, may advance beyond first base at her own risk. They will be declared out, however, if they stop between bases while the pitcher is holding the ball within the 8-foot radius circle.

- B. Any Falcon player who receives a base on balls, may not advance past first base.
- 3. The violation by one base runner shall affect all other base runners. If a base runner is out for leaving too soon, all other base runners must return to their bases occupied at the time of the dead ball call.
- 4. In Falcon & Filly Leagues, the base runners shall not leave their bases until the pitched ball has reached the batter. The ball will be considered as having reached the batter when it reaches home plate. If the base runner leaves the base before the ball reaches the batter, the base runner is out. The pitched ball then becomes a dead ball. Falcon will not be allowed to steal home when leading by 12 or more runs.
- 5. In Fox League, the base runners shall not leave their bases until the pitcher releases the ball to the batter. Any runners that leave too early will be called out. The pitched ball then becomes a dead ball.
- 6. Slide Rule A runner is out when they do not legally slide or attempt to get around a player who HAS the ball and is ready to make a tag. This is NOT a "must slide rule." Any player who does not attempt to get around the player and causes malicious contact will be ejected from the game. Umpire discretion on attempt and malicious. Any fielder that blocks the base path without possession of the ball will be called with obstruction.
- 7. On a pitch that is rolling on the ground a batter must make an attempt to get out of the way. If in the umpire's judgement this does not occur, first base will NOT be awarded. It will be a dead ball; runners cannot advance and a ball will be called on the batter.
- 8. 90 second Rule: Fox League only: Teams have 90 seconds from the point when the last out occurs to when the first pitch is to thrown to start the new half inning. This rule is to help pick up the pace of the game. Coaches are to teach players to hustle on and off the field, this will allow for more playing time and complete games.
 - A. Speed up runner for catcher only, must be **last out**.

- B. If the pitcher is not ready at the end of 90 seconds, a ball will be called.
- C. If the batter is not ready at the end of 90 seconds, a strike will be called.
- D. In cold weather situations, the umpire should use good judgement in enforcing this rule and error on the side of safety for the players arms.
- E. If either the offense or defense waives their right to 90 seconds, the opposing team still has the option to utilize their time.

PLAYERS IN THE LINE-UP

1. All leagues will play with ten defensive players (if that many are available). It is recommended that ALL players bat during league, with 10 defensive positions and free defensive substitutions. The extra defensive player will be in the outfield. The four defensive outfielders must be arranged in an evenly spaced (umbrella type) position with each player being approximately the same distance from home plate. All outfielders must be in position in the grass of the outfield (if there is a dirt infield) if not, then they must maintain at least a 20-foot distance from the baseline. No rovers will be permitted.

EQUIPMENT AND PLAYING FIELD REGULATIONS

- For dimensional details on playing equipment and playing field, see page 14.
- All teams must be in matching jerseys. It is suggested that pants or shorts should be the same style and color. Uniform issues will not be grounds for protest.
 - No denim cut-offs or short-shorts.
 - B. No metal spikes.
 - C. No jewelry.
 - D. Pants or shorts must be worn at the waist.

- 3. Falcon, Filly and Fox league bats will be official fastpitch softball bats as approved by the U.G.S.A. Baseball and T-ball bats are illegal and may <u>not</u> be used.
- 4. The use of metal cleats **will not** be allowed by U.G.S.A player in Falcon or Filly leagues. Metal cleats will be allowed in Fox league.
- 5. It is required that a catcher must wear a chest protector, face mask, throat protector, and shin guards. Catchers should be ready to take the field when the last out occurs of their teams' offensive inning. If the catcher cannot warm up the pitcher, the coach should.
- 6. Helmets MUST be worn by the batter, the on-deck batter and by all base runners. If a youth player is being used as a base coach, then she MUST also wear the protective batting helmet. Helmets must remain on the head until the person reaches the dugout.
- 7. Helmets for Filly & Fox leagues must have an approved face mask attached. Chin straps are not required for any league.

8. REGULATIONS:

| LEAG | JE REGULATIONS | Falcon | Filly | Fox |
|------------|---|---------|---------|-----------|
| PLAYING | Base Line Distance | 60' | 60' | 60' |
| FIELD | Pitching Distance | 32' | 38' | 43' |
| | Minimum Home Run | 175′ | 175′ | 175′ |
| | Home Plate to Backstop | 30' | 30' | 30' |
| | (opt) | | | |
| | Batter's Box | 3' X 7' | 3′ X 7′ | 3' X 7' |
| | Measurements | | | |
| REGULATION | Number of Innings | 6 | 6 | 7 |
| GAMES | Note: Number of innings can be modified by local city | | | ocal city |
| | recreation discretion or time restrictions. | | | |
| BATS | Maximum Length | 32" | 32" | 34" |
| *Official | Maximum Diameter | 2 1/4" | 2 ¼" | 2 ¼" |
| Fastpitch | | | | |
| SOFTBALLS | Circumference | 11" | 12" | 12" |

- 9. Teams should do their pre-game warm up outside the foul lines, especially if the field has just been prepped.
- 10. Bats must be wrapped with dull tape or have a hand grip that isn't torn, ragged or loose. No duct tape or electrical tape will be allowed.
- 11. All bats must be on solid unit. No pieces may disconnect
- 12. In all U.G.S.A. leagues and tournaments coaches are to remain in respective dugouts or coaching boxes. No coach at anytime is allowed to stand behind the backstop to gain an advantage in coaching their players or criticizing umpires.

STATE TOURNAMENT

- Tournaments will be awarded only to those cities and/or leagues that can provide U.G.S.A. approved facilities. If the host city or league does not meet or does not follow the U.G.S.A. guidelines for the tournament, the host city or league shall be placed under investigation to see if the city can host another tournament. All U.G.S.A. rules as stated will be in effect for state tournaments.
- 2. No dogs or animals will be allowed in any of the venues hosting state tournament.
- 3. Minimum requirements for a city or league hosting a U.G.S.A. tournament is that there are an adequate number of playing fields.
- 4. Playing fields must meet the following specifications:
 - A. Dimensions as listed in the U.G.S.A. Supplement.
 - B. Infield must be a level surface cleared of rocks and other debris.
 - C. Bases which are properly secured to the playing surface
 - D. Home plate level with the playing surface.
 - E. Proper size pitching rubber in place.
 - F. Infields to be wet down & relined after each game; groomed after two games.

- G. Outfields should have no holes in the surface or other obstructions that could injure a player or interfere with play.
- H. The grass should be properly mowed.
- I. Outfield or homerun fence should be in place.
- Foul lines and/or poles clearly visible.
- K. All game balls must be yellow in color.
- L. Host cities must have a U.G.S.A. and High School federation Rule books at tournament sites.
- M. Tournament placement will be based on travel distance of the mass majority. Travel will be a defining factor.
- N. For safety reasons, **No** children will be allowed in dugouts or on playing field before or during games.
- 5. Each playing field must have trained scorekeepers, umpires, and announcers for each game of the tournament.
- 6. 1st through 4th place teams will receive award medals, 1st and 2nd place Falcon, Filly and Fox teams will also receive championship T-shirts.
- 7. Official size, first grade, fastpitch softballs must be used in all games with at least one new ball to start each game. No slowpitch balls shall be used.
- 8. Advance tournament bracketing will be e-mailed to each city or league.
- 9. A fee to non-players to attend the tournament games will be charged. This fee should not exceed \$3.00 per person age 12 and up, per day. No fee should be charged to coaches, their spouses, or team members. Only two coaches per team should be allowed.
- 10. U.G.S.A. will pay for umpires. U.G.S.A. will purchase awards for the tournaments.
- 11. The State Director and Area Directors should help cities hosting the tournament.
- 12. The U.G.S.A. Board will appoint an Umpire in Chief (Fox tournament only, Falcon and Filly host cities will provide their own umpires) who will then get the umpires for the tournament. The State Fox Director will meet with

- the umpires before the tournament starts and go over the U.G.S.A. Rules of Play.
- 13. The 2025 state tournament will be held July 7-9, 2025.
- 14. Each team will travel at their own expense and the tournament committee can in no way be held responsible for any injury to players, managers or spectators.
- 15. U.G.S.A. teams that qualify for the tournament, may pick up 1 additional player. THE PICK-UP PLAYER MUST PLAY IN THEIR OWN UNIFORM FOR THE TOURNAMENT OR BE DISQUALIFIED FROM THE TOURNAMENT.
- 16. Pick-up player must be registered and approved before the tournament and cannot be changed or replaced after the tournament begins. Pick-up players must have played in 50% of their league games to be eligible for state tournaments.
- 17. **PICK-UP PLAYER**. Pick-up player can play in any position and **must** play in their own team's uniform.
- 18. If a team loses one game and then does not show up for the second game, they are disqualified from the tournament. If a team does not show up for the first game, they do not get to play the second game. The coach of the team will not be eligible to coach any team in the U.G.S.A without approval of the Board of Directors.
- 19. Five warm-up pitches or one minute will be allowed for pitchers between innings or for relief pitchers.
- 20. Pick-up player must be in their own uniform when playing in the tournament. Intentionally changing a pick-up player's uniform or status is considered cheating and will result in team disqualification.
- 21. Any team failing to field fewer than 8 uniformed players within 10 minutes of the scheduled starting time of the game shall forfeit the game.

- When both teams fail to field a team, it will be considered a double forfeit and both teams will be assessed with a loss.
- 22. Any team failing to field fewer than 9 uniformed players will be assessed an automatic out. (9 players=no outs, 8 players=1 automatic out, 7 players=forfeit)
- 23. All teams must check in at least one hour before their first game or they will be ineligible to play.
- 24. In all leagues if a team is leading its opponent by at least 15 funs after three innings, 12 runs after four innings or 8 runs after five innings, the team in the lead will be declared the winner.

| Mercy Rule Innings/Time | Runs Ahead | Visiting Team Innings Played | Home Team Innings Played |
|----------------------------|---------------|---------------------------------|-----------------------------|
| At 3 innings | 15 | 3 | 2 ½ |
| At 4 innings | 12 | 4 | 3 ½ |
| At 5 innings | 8 | 5 | 4 ½ |

- 25. LINE-UPS: In state tournament play, **ALL PLAYERS WILL BAT**, with 10 defensive positions and free defensive substitutions.
 - A. Batting order must remain the same for the entirety of the game.
 - B. In case of injury/illness and player is removed from the game, the team will not be required to take an automatic out unless they fall under 9 players.
 - C. Players who arrive late to the game must be added to the lineup. Said player must be added to the next available spot at the bottom of the lineup.
- 26. In Falcon and Filly leagues, a batter may not advance on a dropped third strike.
- 27. Home team will be determined by a coin toss fifteen minutes before each game. Dugouts will not be assigned. Teams may occupy whichever dugout is open upon their arrival to the field.

- 28. At the end of regulation in tournament play, if the game is tied then the international tie-breaker will be used. In Falcon league the runner will start on 3rd base, in all other leagues the runner will start at 2nd base. The runner will be the last **out** of the previous inning, said base runner will have no affect on batting order.
- 29. **Falcon league:** The first two innings of play will be governed by a 6 run offensive limit. The last play will be live. This may allow more than 6 runs to be scored. Once the play is completed teams will switch.
- 30. In the championship game, the home team will be the undefeated team. There will not be a coin toss. No time limit will be used in the first championship game.
 - A. If an "if game" is necessary, home team assignment will go to the winning team of the first championship game.
 - B. All "if games" will be played with a time limit. Time limits will be the same as previously stated for each league.
- 31. Weather issues and rescheduling: In the event of inclement weather that results in game cancellation or postponement, tournament host will be required to play games on the next available calendar day that the fields are playable, excluding Sunday. Host city will determine day and time according to field playability.
- 32. Team Selection for state tournament:
 - A. Each league will send approximately 50% of their teams to state tournaments. League teams and percentage will be based on the number of teams paid for. All state bids will be awarded through the league. No individual bids will be awarded.
 - B. State awards/bids should be first awarded to league champions.

 Additional awards may be determined by each individual league.

 Other ways of selecting teams may include: second and third place league finishers, city tournament champions, or other at large bids awarded in play off games or league organized tournaments.
 - C. Leagues must send a copy of all team rosters, game schedule & appropriate fees for each of their teams to U.G.S.A. secretary by the deadline. Address is located in the front of this rule book.

- D. Teams/players that are not associated with a U.G.S.A. sanctioned league are not eligible for participation in state tournaments.
- E. State tournament locations will be determined by the U.G.S.A. Board and members. With multiple tournaments, leagues may have more than one tournament site to send teams. Teams will be assigned a site by the tournament committee. Directors need to submit teams in the order they finished in their league.
- F. Awarding of State bids: On June 16, 2025, each city/league will be notified of their allotted number of teams for state tournament play. On June 20, 2025, team names **must** be submitted to U.G.S.A.
- G. Declining of State bids: Once brackets are scheduled, players may only play for that team. If a team cannot attend tournament play, all players from that team are illegal to be selected as pick-up players for any other team. If a team cancels or declines to come to State tournament for any reason, once the brackets have been completed, there will be a cancellation fee of \$100 per team. This fee will cover all costs of the scheduled games and must be paid before any other teams from that city will be allowed to play in tournaments.

PROTESTS AND PENALTIES

- 1. A protest based on a play which involves umpire's judgement is not permitted.
- 2. In U.G.S.A., protests should be discouraged on technicalities and it should be observed that unless an illegal player is being used or some unusual or major violation committed, a game forfeiture should not be involved.
- 3. If a manager or coach has been removed from the game and refuses to leave the playing field or ballpark, the game will be deemed a forfeit.
- 4. Coaches should be notified of a rule violation he/she is making at the time and point in the game that it is made and noticed by anyone.
- 5. All protests must be made at the time of the infraction, before the next pitch is thrown, and will be handled quickly by the tournament director and the host committee of at least two additional people (3 total). Game

clock will stop, however, no undue game delay will be allowed for lengthy protest procedures. If possible the tournament director can get the State Director or any other Board member on the phone to take care of the protest.

ILLEGAL PLAYERS

- The play of illegal players shall result in the forfeiture of game in which
 players have participated illegally if the game is protested by any of the
 league managers or officials within the next calendar day of the game or
 games in question. (an illegal player is one who is not legally a member of
 the team because she does not meet the age or grade, or residence, or
 the registration requirements).
- 2. Penalty for the use of an illegal player, due to prior disciplinary action, shall be the removal of the player from the line-up upon appeal by the opposing manager, or notification by the official scorer or league records to verify the ineligibility of the player concerned. Such players may also be declared illegal to play in the team's next game if such a violation is determined deliberate on the part of the player or her manager.
- 3. In the event a manager of an illegal player refuses to remove the player in question from the line-up when the appeal is made and verified, the game will result in a forfeit and the team will be disqualified for the remainder of the tournament.
- 4. The official scorer should notify the umpire concerning an illegal player who is about to be used in the game, but their failure to do so does not change the rules, but can have the effect to the participants removal from the game.