Hazardous Waste Reporting

Hazardous Waste, as defined by 40 CFR
261, is prohibited by Spanish Fork from
being discharged to the sewer, storm
drains and waterways.

For information on disposal please visit the
following state website:
https://deq.utah.gov/waste-management-a
nd-radiation-control/hazardous-waste-man
agement-program

If Hazardous Waste is discharged, whether
on purpose or accidentally, the following is
required by the EPA and the Utah DEQ

(40 CFR 403.12(p) requires a one-time
report for each substance discharged to a
POTW that, if otherwise disposed of, would
be considered RCRA hazardous waste.

40 CFR 403.12(j) requires a report in
advance of any substantial change in
volume or character of any U discharge).

Who Must Notify:

All Industrial Users (IU) that discharge a
substance that, if otherwise disposed of,
would be characteristic or listed wastes
under 40 CFR Part 261 and meet the
following criteria:

Total waste discharged is greater than or
equal to 15 kg(33 Ibs)/month;

or Waste discharged is acute hazardous
waste.

Notification Must Contain:

For hazardous wastes greater than or
equal to 15 kg(33 Ibs)/month or any
quantity of acute hazardous waste, the
one-time notification from an IU must
contain:

1. Name of the hazardous waste as set
forth in 40 CFR Part 261.

2. EPA hazardous waste number (code).
3. Type of discharge to the sewer
(continuous, batch, or other).

4. A certification that the IU has a program
in place to reduce the volume and toxicity
of hazardous wastes generated to the
degree it has determined to be
economically practical.

If the IU discharges > 100 kg of acute or
non-acute hazardous waste per calendar
month to the POTW, the notification must
also contain the following items of
information, to the extent such information
is known and available:

1. An identification of the hazardous
constituents contained in the hazardous
wastes.

2. An estimation of the mass and
concentration of such constituents in the
waste stream discharged during the
calendar month in which the one-time
report is made.

3. An estimation of the mass of
constituents in the wastestream expected
to be discharged during the 12 months
following the notification.

Notification Must be Sent To:

1. Local Sewer Authority (i.e., POTW)
2. EPA Region 8 Land, Chemicals and
Redevelopment Division

3. Division of Waste Management and
Radiation Control - Utah Department of
Environmental lit

When the Notification Must be Submitted:
All lUs must submit the notification no later
than 180 days after the discharge of a
hazardous waste.

In the case of newly identified hazardous
wastes, the IU must submit a notification
within 90 days of the effective date of such
regulations.

The notification need be submitted only
once for each hazardous waste
discharged, except when there will be a
substantial change in the volume or
character of the hazardous waste
discharged. In the case of a substantial
change in volume or character (a
long-term, not an episodic change,
generally because of a planned change to
the facility or operations), another one-time
report is required.

The POTW may require additional
reporting of these substances as it deems
necessary. Spanish Fork prohibits
Hazardous Waste, as defined by 40 CFR
261, from being discharged to the sewer,
storm drains and waterways.
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